JohnsonDiversey Headquarters

Introduction

Environmental awareness and sustainability are far from new concepts at the SC Johnson family of companies which includes JohnsonDiversey (JDI), a commercial products company. So in 1997 when they built the headquarters for JDI, in Racine, Wisconsin, it was stipulated that it had to be both "a great place to work" and "environmentally responsible." 1 Beyond simply being at the forefront of the green building trend, the design team was also challenged to deliver the project at current prices and be cost comparative. With these three objectives in mind, occupant comfort, environmentally responsible, and cost comparative, the design team got to work and developed a truly innovative and inspiring building. To the operator's surprise, given this background, when they revisited the building's features while acting as a LEED-EB, (Existing Buildings) pilot project in 2004, they managed to find a number of additional improvements. To achieve the objectives both during the construction phase and in the pursuit of LEED-EB, the designers made extensive use of advanced monitoring and control systems, energy efficiency, and natural lighting. As one can see in this study, the extensive use of monitoring and control systems is a dominant feature and is just one feature that benefits from the extensive use of copper.


JDI Headquarters Racine Wisconsin Photo courtesy of USGBC

Although the building was originally constructed with green building practices in mind, including high energy efficiency and the extensive use of natural lighting, the focus of this study will be on their renovation efforts and pursuit of LEED for existing buildings (LEED EB). According to Greg Bell of JDI there is a distinction between how decisions were, and are, made in new constructions and in renovations.

What Makes It Green

When building from scratch, one is able to think about new ideas and features which can act as systems or fit into a 'bigger picture' and are only constrained by the budget. In contrast in renovations, it is critical to be able to present the business case for each change to the facilities operators, showing them how it will improve their bottom line. To date this type of evidence has been limited but is becoming more prevalent. As an example, one is able to predict with reasonable accuracy the energy savings which would be associated with improving the insulation value of a building. In regards to distinct options, items such as the building's central atrium and light shelving designed to feed natural light deep into the building, is not an optional upgrade to an existing building. However, improved monitoring and automatic lighting are.

The Process

To achieve this at JDI, Stu Carron, Director of Global Facilities and Real Estate, initiated the process by writing a white paper which explained the USGBC and LEED-EB, and why JDI should get involved. This was well received by senior management who supported the process completely. The next step involved some outside support who identified "the most achievable and cost-effective opportunities for change, and developed a list of recommendations for achieving LEED-EB Prerequisites and Credits."2 Carron then established a project team and assigned responsibility for each of the LEED categories using the identified opportunities as a roadmap to their objective. To get the project rolling Carron and his team focused on what they called 'Green Starting Points' which are either existing or easy to achieve practices. These early successes engaged the company and provided a foundation upon which subsequent efforts could build on. The biggest challenge was and is to integrate the "business practices and systems" required by the LEED-EB program.3

Monitoring and Control Systems

Some of the 'Green Starting Points' that the project team were able to build off of were the features originally put into the building. These included documenting, and in some cases refining, the building's extensive monitoring and control systems.

The building uses a Johnson Controls Metasys system to monitor and control all of the building's HVAC equipment. The system continually monitors temperature, humidity, lighting, electricity use, water use, air volumes, static distribution, various equipment operations, and CO2 levels throughout the building. It also allows for alarm parameters to be set and tracks trends to highlight potential maintenance needs.4 Monitoring of CO2, temperature and humidity is done by a series of sensors located throughout the building, including the mixed air plenums at all major air handling systems, as well as, representative occupied spaces.5


Part of the monitoring and control system. Photo courtesy of USGBC

The extent of control in the system is demonstrated by the personal environment modules (PEMs) which are installed in 93% of the building's office areas. These 1.8 m (six foot) high cubicles allow individuals to set a number of variables within their own workspace, tailoring it to their preferences. This includes lighting, temperature and even background noise. The PEMs automatically sense if a person is present and turns on the light and brings the air temperature to the set preference. It also shuts these features off automatically if the individual leaves the space. This allows for slightly lower ambient temperatures and lighting in communal spaces and places additional heating and cooling close to the individual, making it more efficient. Background noise can be masked through the creation of white noise through speakers under each desk. These systems have been linked to improved performance and substantially fewer calls to facility operators for temperature changes. Temperature and light adjustments have also been installed in multi-occupant spaces such as meeting rooms.6

Water

Through effective design and the use of various simple technologies, JDI was also able to generate substantial water savings. Outside the building when re-evaluating their operations, they realized that they could eliminate the use of potable water for irrigation by using the captured storm water runoff in the detention ponds in the natural wetlands which surround the facility. This is now used for all irrigation and is fed through an automatic sprinkler system which is linked to moisture sensors in the ground to indicate if it is not needed. Further landscaping was only done on the property which immediately surrounds the building.7 Inside they also pursued water savings aggressively.

Over a three-month period, they tested a number of potential low flow fixtures throughout the facility to identify which ones most appropriately met their needs. After this evaluation phase, they installed automatic faucets with aerators to cut the amount of water coming through them from 9.4 to 1.9 lpm (2.5gpm to 0.5gpm), and reduced the water use of toilets and urinals to 6 and 1.9 lpf (1.6gpf and 0.5gpf respectively.8

Through these efforts they were able to achieve a baseline standard that is 32% below the EPA's Fixture Performance Requirements policy standard of 1992. By changing their irrigation system alone they have reduced their potable water use by 9,100.000 million litres (2-4 million gallons).9

Copper's Role

Where is copper in this building? The short answer is everywhere. In practically every system in the building, copper is playing a sustainable supportive or facilitator role - from the copper water lines into the washrooms to the extensive wiring needed to support the control and monitoring systems. And these features are key in achieving LEED-EB certification as shown in the table below.

Conclusion

In 1935, H.F. Johnson traveled to Brazil to study the sustainability of carnauba palms used in the company's products establishing a tradition of pursuing sustainability and taking a leadership position.10 In their headquarters, JDI has continued this tradition integrating a number of design features into both the original construction and re-evaluation of the building, and its operation during the LEED-EB process. Due to its natural properties and effective management, the copper which runs through this building shares in this continual pursuit of sustainability.

  1. Interview with Greg Bell, Director, Global External Communication, JohnsonDiversey March 2007
  2. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 6
  3. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 5-7
  4. Interview with Greg Bell, Director, Global External Communication, JohnsonDiversey March 2007
  5. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 38
  6. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 43
  7. Interview with Greg Bell, Director, Global External Communication, JohnsonDiversey March 2007
  8. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 19, 22
  9. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 21
  10. JohnsonDiversey

Le siège de la société JohnsonDiversey

Introduction

Le souci de l’environnement et de la durabilité n’est pas une nouveauté dans le groupe SC Johnson, dont fait partie la société de produits d’entretien JohnsonDiversey (JDI). En 1997 déjà, pour la construction de son siège à Racine, dans le Wisconsin, JDI stipulait que l’immeuble devrait être " un lieu de travail à la fois agréable et respectueux de l’environnement. "1 Mais au-delà de la mise œuvre des toutes dernières tendances de la construction verte, les concepteurs ont dû relever le défi de travailler aux prix courants, pour arriver à un coût comparable à celui d’un immeuble ordinaire. Répondant ainsi au triple impératif de confort de ses occupants, de respect de l’environnement et de non dépassement d’un coût normal, cet immeuble innovateur constitue véritablement une réalisation exemplaire. Ce n’est donc pas sans surprise qu’en réexaminant en 2004 les caractéristiques du bâtiment dans le cadre d’un projet pilote LEED-EB (LEED pour bâtiments existants), son exploitant a constaté qu’il y avait place encore pour l’amélioration. Dans le projet originel du bâtiment comme dans celui de sa rénovation en vue de la certification LEED-EB, les systèmes de surveillance et de régulation, l’éco-efficacité et l’éclairage naturel ont tenu une grande place dans la conception. Les systèmes de surveillance et de régulation, dont l’omniprésence est une caractéristique majeure de ce bâtiment, ne sont qu’un des domaines dans lesquels le cuivre, et les avantages qu’il procure, sont largement présents.


Le siège de la société JDI à Racine, Wisconsin. Photo courtoisie de USGBC

Bien que cet immeuble soit une construction verte ayant donc fait l’objet d’une recherche poussée d’efficacité énergétique et d’utilisation de l’éclairage naturel, il est intéressant d’étudier le travail qu’a demandé sa mise aux normes LEED pour bâtiments existants (LEED EB). Comme Greg Bell de JDI le dit bien, en construction neuve et en rénovation, les décisions ne se prennent pas de la même façon.

Un bâtiment vert

Quand on construit du neuf en effet, on peut se permettre d’imaginer des solutions nouvelles susceptibles de devenir des systèmes ou de trouver leur place dans le projet d’ensemble. La seule contrainte est celle du budget. En rénovation, c’est différent : il faut justifier économiquement à l’exploitant chaque modification qu’on lui propose, en faisant valoir les économies escomptées. Ce n’était pas souvent possible jusqu’à présent, mais cela le devient de plus en plus. Dans le cas d’un renforcement d’isolation thermique par exemple, on sait assez bien chiffrer aujourd’hui les économies d’énergie à en attendre. Entre construction neuve et rénovation, les choix sont différents. Impossible par exemple de créer après coup un atrium central ou de doter une façade d’auvents réfléchissants (light-shelf) pour faire entrer profondément la lumière naturelle dans un immeuble existant. En revanche, il est parfaitement possible d’améliorer la surveillance de l’éclairage et d’en automatiser le fonctionnement.

Genèse du projet

Tout a commencé par un livre blanc où Stu Carron, le directeur mondial Installations et Biens immobiliers, expliquait ce que sont l’USGBC et la certification LEED-EB, et pourquoi JDI ferait bien de s’y intéresser. Ce livre blanc a conquis l’adhésion de la haute direction. Avec l’appui d’une aide extérieure, l’étape suivante a consisté à "déterminer quelles modifications seraient les plus facilement réalisables et les plus rentables, et à mettre par écrit des recommandations sur ce qui permettrait de répondre aux critères et d’obtenir les points LEED-EB."2 Ensuite Carron a mis sur pied une équipe de projet dans laquelle il a désigné un responsable pour chacune des catégories LEED, en prenant les modifications envisagées comme fil conducteur du projet à réaliser. Le travail a débuté par la définition de ce que Carron et son équipe ont appelé des " points de départ verts ", éléments pratiques dont la mise en place était déjà chose faite ou serait de réalisation facile. Les premiers résultats encourageants ainsi obtenus eurent pour effet de rallier l’entreprise au projet et de permettre au travail de se poursuivre sur cette lancée. Le plus ardu fut d’intégrer les méthodes et systèmes de l’entreprise, nécessité qu’imposait le programme LEED-EB.3

Systèmes de surveillance et de régulation

Parmi les "points de départ verts" sur lesquels le travail devait s’amorcer figuraient les équipements dont le bâtiment était déjà doté. Le travail à ce niveau allait être de constituer la documentation et, dans certains cas, d’apporter des raffinements aux imposants systèmes de régulation et surveillance des installations techniques.

Dans cet immeuble, l’ensemble des installations de chauffage, ventilation et climatisation est piloté par un système Johnson Controls Metasys qui surveille en permanence la température de l’air, son degré d’humidité, les niveaux d’éclairage, les consommations d’électricité et d’eau, les volumes d’air débités, la distribution des charges électrostatiques, ainsi que le fonctionnement des équipements et le niveau de CO2 dans tout les locaux de l’immeuble. Ce système permet en outre de paramétrer le déclenchement des alarmes et de déceler les dérives signalant la nécessité d’une maintenance.4 Les capteurs qui mesurent le CO2, la température de l’air et son humidité sont implantés un peu partout, aussi bien dans les chambres de mélange des principaux circuits de circulation d’air que dans certains locaux et espaces dont l’occupation est représentative de celle de l’immeuble.5


Part of the monitoring and control system. Photo courtesy of USGBC

Les modules de réglage d’ambiance, que l’on trouve dans 93 % des bureaux de l’immeuble, montrent à quel point la régulation est raffinée. Dans chaque poste de travail, que délimite des cloisons de 1,8 m (6 pi), un boîtier permet de régler librement l’éclairage, la température et la neutralisation du bruit ambiant. À l’entrée de l’occupant dans son bureau, le boîtier allume automatiquement la lumière et amène la température à la valeur qu’il a demandée. Au départ de l‘occupant, tout s’éteint. On obtient de la sorte des températures et un éclairage légèrement plus faibles dans les espaces non privatifs, et un meilleur effet du chauffage et de la climatisation à proximité des occupants. En outre, des haut-parleurs disposés sous son bureau et produisant un bruit blanc permettent à l’occupant de s’isoler, s’il le désire, du bruit ambiant. Ces équipements ont induit une amélioration de la productivité du travail et une diminution sensible des demandes de retouche du réglage de la température adressées au personnel de maintenance. Les espaces non privatifs tels que les salles de réunion disposent eux aussi de réglages pour la température et l’éclairage.6

Eau

Une étude minutieuse et l’utilisation de technologies bien simples ont par ailleurs permis à JDI de réduire nettement sa consommation d’eau. La remise en question de ses manières de faire lui a fait voir qu’au lieu d’eau potable, elle pouvait, pour l’arrosage, se servir de l’eau de pluie que retiennent les mares qui parsèment le terrain environnant. C’est cette eau uniquement qui alimente désormais les arroseurs automatiques, dont des détecteurs d’humidité placés dans le sol arrêtent le fonctionnement quand il n’est pas nécessaire. L’aménagement paysager n’a du reste pas été poussé plus loin que les abords immédiats du bâtiment.7 À l’intérieur de celui-ci, la recherche des moyens d’économiser l’eau a été tout aussi systématique.

Trois mois durant, toutes sortes de dispositifs économiseurs d’eau ont été testés dans l’immeuble pour voir lesquels répondaient le mieux aux besoins à satisfaire. Au terme de ces essais, les robinets ont été remplacés par des modèles automatiques à aérateur, dont le débit n’est que de 1,9 l/min contre 9,4 pour les robinets ordinaires (0,5 gal/min au lieu de 2,5). Même chose pour les chasses d’eau et les urinoirs, dont les débits ont été ramenés à 6 l (1,6 gal) par chasse pour les unes et à 1,9 l (0,5 gal) par rinçage pour les autres.8

Tous ces efforts ont permis d’arriver à une consommation se situant à 32 % au-dessous de celle que préconise la norme EPA de 1992 pour les appareils de plomberie. À elle seule, l’utilisation de l’eau de pluie pour l’arrosage a réduit la consommation d’eau potable de 9100 000 litres (2,4 millions de gallons).9

RÔLE DU CUIVRE

Où le cuivre est-il présent dans cet immeuble? On peut dire partout. Sous forme de tube dans les canalisations d’eau, ou sous celle de fil dans les innombrables réseaux de commande et de surveillance, il rend possible ou facilite le fonctionnement de toutes les installations auxquelles il apporte en plus sa durabilité. Par ses qualités et ses propriétés, le cuivre a joué un rôle capital dans l’obtention de la certification LEED-EB, comme le montre bien le tableau ci-dessous.

Conclusion

En 1935, H.F. Johnson est allé au Brésil étudier la culture du carnauba, ce palmier dont sa société tirait ses produits. Rechercher la durabilité et occuper une place de premier plan10 est devenu dès lors une tradition, que JDI a poursuivie dans son siège social en le dotant d’une foule d’innovations, à l’époque de la construction puis au cours du processus de certification LEED-EB. De par ses qualités intrinsèques et sa gestion efficace, le cuivre des réseaux qui innervent ce bâtiment concourt à cette recherche continuelle de la durabilité.

  1. Interview with Greg Bell, Director, Global External Communication, JohnsonDiversey March 2007
  2. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 6
  3. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 5-7
  4. Interview with Greg Bell, Director, Global External Communication, JohnsonDiversey March 2007
  5. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 38
  6. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 43
  7. Interview with Greg Bell, Director, Global External Communication, JohnsonDiversey March 2007
  8. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 19, 22
  9. USGBC LEED-EB Project Case Study: JohnsonDiversey Headquarters October 2004 pg. 21
  10. JohnsonDiversey