Austin City Hall

Introduction

Completed in 2004, Austin's City Hall is one of the most unique Green Buildings in the world. Designed by Antoine Predock to reflect its natural surroundings, the four-storey, 9,300 m2 (100,000 ft.2) structure incorporates local limestone, a cascading waterfall, and non-symmetrical shapes, all of which reflect the waterways and canyons of Austin's surroundings. The top two floors, roof, and 'stinger', projecting 15 m (50 feet) out over a neighboring street, are clad in copper, playing the role of the sun in this homage to the landscape. The unique and at times controversial design is anchored by a number of very practical and meaningful features designed to meet the goal of transparent government and providing a meeting space for the continual benefit of the city of Austin, TX.

What Defines a Sustainable Building?

Overview - The building is located in the reemerging Warehouse District and represents a centrepiece of what is expected to be, through proactive planning, a vibrant part of the city. It is set slightly askew from the street to provide unique outdoor spaces around the building including a large open plaza which has been developed with concerts in mind, including a limestone stage and amphitheatre seating shaded by photovoltaic cells. These have been integrated into the design to facilitate and compliment the city's casual style and love of live music. The designers took advantage of the building's construction to develop a space which could serve numerous purposes in the city's life and culture beyond simply housing its administration. They worked with stakeholders, such as the local media, to ensure that it met their needs as well.

This consideration is reflected in many details throughout the building. First when individuals walk into the building, they find themselves standing in a canyon like space that reaches up to the roof disturbed only by catwalks joining its different sides. The council chambers have theatre-style seating for 156 and screens both inside the chambers and in the lobby to allow the public to monitor the proceedings.

What Makes it Green - the Building's Features

When the City Hall project was initiated, all of those involved were committed to achieving a LEED rating, and it is clear that numerous features have been incorporated to facilitate this. According to Deb Ebersole, of Cotera+Reed Architects, this was done because "it's the right thing to do, Austin has always been green and this is a good way to compare ourselves to others."1 Ebersole commented on how this was complicated by trying to bring together the construction realities with the ideas behind the design and accomplishing them within the context of meeting the LEED standards. Their success is apparent with the U.S. Green Building Council awarding the building a LEED Gold certification. To achieve this they were particularly successful in three areas: the reuse of materials, energy use, and a number of features which make the building more functional for users. Copper's role in each of these areas is reviewed in greater detail in the next section.

Material Reuse

This project was very successful in reusing material from diverting construction waste, to reusing the air-conditioning condensation, to using materials with high recycled content. More than 50% of the construction waste was diverted from landfills with appropriate pieces of ceramic tiles, wood and concrete going to local artists and schools.1 Air-conditioning is a practical necessity in Austin but the designers have reused the condensate generated to feed the waterfall which streams into the south plaza. Finally, many of the materials used throughout the project including copper, steel, drywall and concrete masonry had high levels of recycled content.

Energy Use

Design features throughout the building minimize its energy use especially in relation to keeping the building cool. To shade the building, the designers planted large mature trees rather than using smaller ones typically seen at new constructions. They chose to use an underground parking garage which has reduced the building's footprint and the amount of reflected heat which could have been generated by a street level lot. Further, the building is part of Austin Energy's Downtown District cooling system which uses a unique system to generate ice overnight, when electricity demands are lower, and it is cheaper. The ice is then used to generate chilled water which is used to cool the building improving its energy efficiency. For the energy the building does need, the city has committed to purchasing 50% of it from renewable sources through Austin Energy's Green Choice program. This program relies primarily on wind-generated power but also water and methane gas generation.2

Building Features

Despite its striking design, it is clear that the designers did not lose sight of its users. From the inclusion of showers and change rooms to the use of low to no volatile organic compounds, this becomes very clear. By providing a place to clean up and change, the designers have removed one of the largest obstacles to alternative forms of commuting, and by using paints, carpets and adhesives with low to no VOCs, the indoor air quality is improved dramatically. This latter point is a distinguishing feature of Green Buildings which are often described as feeling exceptionally clean. Finally, the solar panels over the main stairs act as a design feature, a power source, and a source of shade for people watching events in the plaza, an important feature given the city's love of live music.

What Defines a Sustainable Building?

Copper played an integral part in almost every aspect in this building including its striking design features and advanced technology. In fact over 5,575 m2 (60,000 ft.2), or more than a football field's worth, of copper was used primarily to 'wrap' the top half of the building including of course its unique 'stinger'. The 300 mm (12-in) copper clad panels and standing seam copper roof were treated with a light oil coating to slow their patination, and due to the low amount of sulphur in Austin's air it is expected that in about 30 years, it will turn a soft grey with hints of blue and green. Not only was the colouring important, given the design objective of an homage to the local environment, but the fact that copper can be manipulated to fit into unique spaces was critical because the building has few 90-degree angles. The copper features continue into the building. In the lobby a bronze ceiling reflects the sun coming in from the skylight into the space below.3 In the council chamber 16 "copper clouds" dominate the ceiling acting as both design features and corrugated acoustical panels designed to improve the room's sound quality.

Finally, the fact that this football field's worth of copper had 82% recycled content helped contribute to being awarded the LEED point for recycled materials. Further, the only energy needed to make cladding from recycled copper is for the heatto melt it, or 15% of the total energy consumed if it were mined, milled, smelted and refined from ore. This translates intobig energy savings, as over 80% of copper used to make architectural sheet products comes from recycled copper.Finally from creation to use, copper can last two or three times longer than other exterior materials, and thus equate to less material consumed over the building's life span.4

The city took advantage of the opportunity of building a new City Hall to update all of the building's technical features. In total they used 230,000 m (750,000 feet) of copper cabling in various applications to facilitate the transparency of government, advances in technology, and the desire to make the building useful to a variety of users. Copper cable is the most efficient and reliable electrical conductor, is easy to install, repair, and is more durable and cheaper over its life cycle than aluminum. Further, at the end of use all of this copper cable can be recycled into other copper and brass products, like tube for air-conditioning equipment, cladding and hardware which have an average recycled content of between 66 and 95 percent.5

The designers worked closely with the local media and the city's own news channel to make the building 'media friendly'. This included installing lighting as well as audio and video plug-ins throughout to allow media to broadcast live from almost anywhere. The city's media equipment had not been updated in 18 years and there was a need to bring it up-to-date. There was an obvious effort to make technological decisions not only based on the needs of today but where possible also on those of tomorrow. To support the city's love of live music, the sound systems were installed to maximize the usability of the space.

Conclusion

The adventurous designer Antoine Predock did not hold anything back on Austin's City Hall despite the clear goal of achieving LEED certification. The result is an exceptionally unique green building with many features which make it functional, aesthetically pleasing and environmentally beneficial. Copper has played a fundamental role in achieving these goals, both directly contributing to LEED certification and indirectly via its use in "green"/environmentally beneficial technologies for effective use of energy and materials throughout the life of the building. This includes the 6,000 m2 (66,000 ft.2) of copper cladding which wraps upper two floors of the building representing the sun, to the copper acoustic panels in the chamber supporting the promotion of live music, to the near million linear feet (320,000 m) of cabling used to support the technological features of the building. This building shows how environmental and aesthetic qualities can work in harmony and the way forward for the future of cutting edge design.

  1. City of Austin - Austin City Hall and Public Plaza.
  2. Austin Energy - Green Choice Program.
  3. Predock Architecture "Austin City Hall and Public Plaza".
  4. Copper Development Association "Copper - The 'Green' Metal" [Not yet released].
  5. CopperInfo "A Comparison of Copper vs. Aluminum Electrical Wire & Cable".

L’hôtel de ville d’Austin

INTRODUCTION

Achevé en 2004, l’hôtel de ville d’Austin au Texas est l’un des bâtiments verts les plus remarquables du monde. Œuvre de l’architecte Antoine Predock qui l’a voulu à l’image de son cadre naturel, ce bâtiment de 9 300 m2 (100 000 pi2) sur quatre étages rappelle, par l’emploi qu’il fait de la pierre calcaire, de l’eau ruisselant en cascade et des formes asymétriques, les canyons et les cours d’eau des environs de la ville. Dans cette ode au paysage, le cuivre qui revêt les faces des deux étages supérieurs ainsi que la toiture et cet éperon jaillissant sur 15 m (50 pieds) au-dessus de la rue, tient le rôle du soleil. Ce parti architectural, dont l’originalité a suscité quelques critiques, met solidement en valeur un ensemble de caractéristiques parfaitement rationnelles et pratiques qui répondent au vœu de rendre l’administration de la ville transparente et de faire de l’hôtel de ville un lieu de rencontre apprécié des gens d’Austin.

LE BÂTIMENT

Vue d’ensemble – L’hôtel de ville est situé dans le Warehouse District et constitue l’un des pôles de l’animation qu’entend redonner à ce quartier un programme de revitalisation activement mené. La disposition de l’immeuble en léger biais par rapport à la rue dégage tout autour de généreux espaces, notamment une grande esplanade que complètent une scène construite en pierre, où des orchestres peuvent venir jouer, et des gradins, où les gens peuvent s’asseoir à l’ombre d’une marquise constituée de panneaux photovoltaïques. La raison d’être de ces aménagements extérieurs était de créer un nouveau lieu où s’apprécieraient et s’exprimeraient ce style de vie détendu et ce goût prononcé pour la musique qui font le caractère et le charme de la ville. Au-delà de la nécessité de reloger les services administratifs municipaux, il y avait donc le désir de créer un espace polyvalent, qui réponde aux besoins divers de la vie collective, sociale et culturelle. C’est dans cet esprit que les intéressés, médias locaux en tête, ont été associés au projet pour garantir la bonne prise en compte de leurs besoins.

Entrons dans l’immeuble. On y a tout de suite l’impression de se trouver dans un canyon : entre les parois du hall qui montent jusqu’au toit, l’espace est coupé seulement par les passerelles qui relient un côté à l’autre. Voici les salles de conseil : tout le monde peut suivre ce qui s’y passe car aux 156 places assises, étagées comme dans un cinéma, s’ajoutent des écrans vidéo. Il y a en a même à l’extérieur de la salle, dans le couloir.

Les caractéristiques écologiques du bâtiment

Dès l’origine du projet, l’intention était de décrocher une certification LEED, et cela est bien visible dans les caractéristiques que possède le bâtiment. Aux dires de Deb Ebersole, du cabinet Cotera+Reed Architects, « c’était la bonne chose à faire : un, parce qu’Austin a toujours été une ville écologique; deux, parce qu’on avait là un bon moyen de voir où on se situe par rapport aux autres ».1 Toute la difficulté, poursuit Ebersole, a été de concilier les impératifs de la réalisation avec les idées de la conception, dans le cadre d’un projet LEED. La certification LEED Or décernée au bâtiment par le U.S. Green Building Council atteste que le pari a été tenu. Ce succès a été remporté grâce aux résultats particulièrement remarquables obtenus dans trois domaines : récupération et recyclage de matériaux, efficacité énergétique, et commodités fonctionnelles offertes par le bâtiment à ses usagers. Voyons tour à tour ces trois aspects, avant d’évoquer plus en détail le rôle que le cuivre a joué dans chacun d’eux.

Récupération et recyclage

La réalisation de ce bâtiment a été exemplaire sur le plan de la récupération, qui a concerné autant les déchets de chantier, que les condensats des batteries de climatisation, ou l’utilisation de matériaux à haute teneur en matière recyclée. Au lieu d’être évacués à la décharge, plus de 50 % des déchets de chantier sont allés vers une destination de réemploi, les déchets intéressants de carrelage, de bois et de béton allant directement chez des artisans et dans des écoles de la ville.1 Sur la climatisation, équipement indispensable au Texas, les concepteurs du bâtiment ont récupéré les condensats pour alimenter la chute d’eau qui agrémente l’esplanade. En outre, une grande partie des matériaux mis en œuvre, que ce soit le cuivre, l’acier, le placoplâtre ou le béton, présentait une teneur importante en matière recyclée.

Efficacité énergétique

Tout dans l‘immeuble a été étudié pour réduire au maximum la consommation d’énergie, en particulier celle nécessaire au maintien de la fraîcheur. Pour donner de l’ombre au bâtiment, les concepteurs ont planté autour de grands arbres adultes, et non de ces frêles choses que l’on trouve d’ordinaire auprès des constructions neuves. En mettant le parc de stationnement sous terre, ils ont réduit l’emprise au sol et ont évité à l’immeuble de recevoir la chaleur que rayonne une aire de stationnement. Ils ont en outre raccordé l’immeuble au réseau de distribution d’eau réfrigérée qui dessert le centre-ville. Cette eau provient d’une centrale exploitée par Austin Energy qui produit de la glace la nuit, quand l’électricité est à tarif réduit. Le rafraîchissement que cette eau procure au bâtiment lui permet de moins consommer d’électricité. Celle que l’immeuble consomme tout de même sera issue à 50 % d’énergies renouvelables. La ville, en effet, a souscrit auprès d’Austin Energy un abonnement au programme Green Choice, qui propose de l’électricité essentiellement d’origine éolienne, hydraulique, ou produite à partir du gaz méthane.2

Commodités offertes par le bâtiment

Sous des dehors audacieux, l’immeuble révèle une conception pensée entièrement en fonction des usagers. La présence de douches et de vestiaires, l’utilisation exclusive de matières dégageant peu ou pas de composés organiques volatiles (COV), en sont des preuves manifestes. En prévoyant un endroit où les gens pourraient se doucher et se changer, les concepteurs ont levé l’un des principaux obstacles à l’abandon de la voiture pour se rendre au travail, et par leur choix de revêtements de sol, de peintures et de colles à dégagement de COV faible ou nul, ils ont considérablement amélioré la qualité de l’air respiré dans les locaux. La propreté exceptionnelle qu’on y ressent est d’ailleurs souvent évoquée à propos des bâtiments verts. Quant aux panneaux solaires qui coiffent le grand escalier, leur fonction technique et architecturale se double de celle de dispensateurs d’ombre pour les auditeurs des concerts donnés sur l’esplanade : dans une ville aussi friande de spectacles de musique, ce détail a son importance.

LE RÔLE DU CUIVRE

Dans presque tous ses aspects, la réalisation de ce bâtiment a fait appel au cuivre. Ce métal est présent dans l’architecture audacieuse du bâtiment, comme dans ses équipements technologiques. Pas moins de 5 575 m2 (60 000 pi2) de cuivre, soit plus que la superficie d’un terrain de football, ont été nécessaires pour habiller essentiellement la moitié haute de l’immeuble et le fameux éperon. Les panneaux de 300 mm (12 po) du bardage, tout comme la couverture en cuivre à joints debout, ont reçu un léger traitement à l’huile pour ralentir la prise de patine, laquelle, vu le peu de souffre présent dans l’air atmosphérique d’Austin, fera prendre au cuivre, d’ici une trentaine d’années, une teinte gris pâle tirant sur le bleu et le vert. La couleur était une considération importante dans un projet se voulant un hommage rendu aux paysages environnants. Mais l’aptitude du cuivre à épouser toutes les formes en était une autre dans un bâtiment où peu d’angles sont droits. À l’intérieur du bâtiment, le cuivre règne aussi. Dans le hall, un plafond en bronze réfléchit vers le bas la lumière que dispensent les baies des étages supérieurs.3 Dans la salle de conseil, seize « nuages » réalisés en cuivre, flottent sous le plafond. Élément décoratif, ils participent en outre, par leur surface texturée, à la bonne acoustique de la salle.

Mais le fait que 82 % de tout ce cuivre provienne du recyclage a beaucoup compté dans l’obtention du point LEED pour l’emploi de matériaux recyclés. De plus, la seule énergie consommée pour transformer du cuivre de récupération en bardage est celle qu’il faut pour le fondre. Elle ne représente que 15 % de ce que consomment l’extraction, la production des concentrés, puis l’élaboration et l’affinage du métal issu du minerai. C’est dire l’importance des économies d’énergie réalisées par l’utilisation à plus de 80 % de cuivre recyclé dans les produits plats élaborés pour le bâtiment. N’oublions pas non plus qu’en utilisation extérieure le cuivre dure deux ou trois fois plus longtemps que n’importe quel autre matériau, ce qui réduit d’autant la consommation de matériaux mis en œuvre dans un bâtiment sur la durée de son existence.4

La construction de son nouvel hôtel de ville a été pour Austin l’occasion de mettre ses installations techniques au goût du jour. Au total, 230 000 m (750 000 pi) de câblage en cuivre ont servi à réaliser les multiples réseaux qui concourent à rendre plus transparente l’administration de la ville, à la doter d’une infrastructure technologique moderne, et à rendre le bâtiment apte à satisfaire aux besoins de multiples usages. Le câble en cuivre est le support le plus efficace et le plus sûr qui soit pour le transport de l’électricité. Facile à mettre en œuvre et à réparer, il est aussi plus durable et moins cher dans le temps que l’aluminium. En fin de vie, le câble en cuivre est recyclable et transformable en d’autres produits de cuivre ou de laiton (tubes pour la climatisation, placage, articles de quincaillerie) qui renferment en moyenne de 66 à 95 pour cent de cuivre recyclé.5

Les concepteurs ont collaboré étroitement avec les médias locaux et la chaîne de nouvelles de la ville afin de rendre l’immeuble le plus commode possible pour leur travail. Des prises pour l’éclairage et pour le matériel de son et de vidéo ont été prévues pour permettre de faire des reportages en direct d’à peu près n’importe où dans l’immeuble. L’équipement audio-visuel de la ville, vieux de 18 ans, avait lui-même bien besoin d’un rajeunissement : un effort évident a été fourni pour que les choix technologiques arrêtés répondent non seulement aux besoins d’aujourd’hui, mais aussi, dans toute la mesure du possible, à ceux de demain. Enfin, les spectacles de musique étant très appréciés à Austin, un maximum d’espaces intérieurs et extérieurs ont été sonorisés.

CONCLUSION

Même en visant d’emblée la certification LEED, l’audacieux architecte Antoine Predock n’a lésiné sur rien dans les aménagements de l’hôtel de ville d’Austin. Le résultat est un bâtiment vert exceptionnel, tout à la fois fonctionnel, esthétique et respectueux de l’environnement. Le cuivre a joué un rôle fondamental dans l’atteinte de ces objectifs, aussi bien de façon directe en contribuant à l’obtention de la certification LEED, que de façon indirecte par son emploi dans des technologies « vertes » respectueuses de l’environnement qui permettront une utilisation efficace de l’énergie et des matières tout au long de la vie de l’immeuble. Il en va ainsi des 6 000 m2 (66 000 pi2) de bardage cuivre qui donnent aux deux étages supérieurs leur habit de soleil, comme aussi des panneaux acoustiques de la salle de conseil qui lui permettent de devenir salle de concert, ou encore des dizaines et des dizaines de kilomètres de câblage des réseaux audiovisuels et informatiques qui innervent le bâtiment. Exemple d’alliance harmonieuse entre qualités environnementales et qualités esthétiques, l’hôtel de ville d’Austin ouvre la voie de l’avenir pour une architecture d’avant-garde.

  1. City of Austin - Austin City Hall and Public Plaza.
  2. Austin Energy - Green Choice Program.
  3. Predock Architecture "Austin City Hall and Public Plaza".
  4. Copper Development Association "Copper - The 'Green' Metal" [Not yet released].
  5. CopperInfo "A Comparison of Copper vs. Aluminum Electrical Wire & Cable".