Wind Power in Canada

Copper's Bright New Age Video Series

Wind Power video thumbnail

In just the past few years, wind energy has become rapidly a significant resource for many utility systems in Canada. Wind energy is now "utility scale" and is being used to augment an increasingly larger proportion of Canada's electrical demand. However, compared to some other countries that rely on wind for a much larger piece of their energy pie, such as the Netherlands, Spain, Denmark, and Germany, this segment of the Canadian electrical market is still very small. Today, rapid growth is both encouraged and expected due to various government, utility, and industry initiatives boosted by the demands of Canadians for a clean, safe, and consistent source of energy.

Wind Mill Farm

Wind is a very complex process which can be described very simply... The sun heats the earth at different rates depending on whether an area is below clouds, in direct sunlight, or covered with water. The air above the warmer areas heats up, becomes less dense, and rises. The rising air creates a low-pressure area. Cooler air from adjacent higher pressure areas moves to the low-pressure areas. This air movement is wind.

Canada's large landmass, long coastline and relatively cool air mass combine to provide a wind resource of huge potential. As a result of this potential, development of Canadian wind energy has grown exponentially over the past decade. Installed wind energy capacity more than doubled in 2006 and now stands at 1,588 megawatts. It is forecasted to reach 12,000 megawatts by 2015.

Meteriological wind map

The author of this piece was the lead CCBDA Electrical Consultant Ronald F. Frank. He received his B.A.Sc. degree in electrical engineering from the University of British Columbia,Vancouver, in 1950. He spent 32 years with the Electric Power Division of Northern Electric/Northern Telecom, where he was responsible for the development, design, manufacture and installation of electrical equipment for the generation, transmission and utilization of electric power for the utility, industrial and commercial industry. From 1983 to 1996, he was the Chief Engineer of Pirelli Cables Canada with similar responsibilities. Mr. Frank was a registered Professional Engineer in Quebec. Ron was the Association's primary Consultant on conductors for wire and cable, connectability testing, wind power generation systems, and associated copper electrical applications.

L'énergie Éolienne au Canada

Une Série de Documents Vidéo:
Le Nouvel Âge d’Or du Cuivre

L'énergie Éolienne

En l’espace de quelques années, l’énergie éolienne est devenue rapidement une importante ressource pour de nombreux services publics du Canada.  Le vent sert désormais à la production d’électricité reliée au réseau et est utilisé pour combler une part sans cesse croissante de la demande d’électricité du Canada. Toutefois, par rapport à certains pays qui dépendent davantage du vent comme les Pays-bas, l’Espagne, le Danemark et l’Allemagne, cette part du marché électrique canadien est encore très petite. Aujourd’hui, une croissance rapide est à la fois encouragée et prévue en raison de diverses initiatives du gouvernement, des compagnies d’électricité et de l’industrie et parce qu’elle est stimulée par les demandes des Canadiens pour une source d’énergie propre, sûre et régulière.

Wind Mill Farm

La production d’énergie éolienne est un processus très complexe.  En termes simples, voici comment on pourrait l’expliquer... Le soleil réchauffe la terre à diverses vitesses, selon que la région est ennuagée, reçoit directement la lumière du soleil ou est couverte d’eau.  L’air au-dessus des zones chaudes se réchauffe, devient moins dense et s’élève en créant une zone de basse pression.  L’air froid des zones de haute pression adjacentes se déplace vers les zones de basse pression.  Ce déplacement d’air s’appelle le vent.

La grande masse continentale du Canada, la longue côte et la masse d’air relativement froid constituent une ressource éolienne très prometteuse.  En raison de cet énorme potentiel, la production canadienne d’énergie éolienne a augmenté de façon exponentielle au cours de la dernière décennie.  La capacité éolienne installée a plus que doublé en 2006; elle s’élève maintenant à 1 588 mégawatts.  On prévoit qu’elle atteindra 12 000 mégawatts d’ici 2015.

Meteriological wind map

Monsieur Ronald F. Frank, auteur du présent article, était le conseiller principal de la CCBDA en matière d’électricité. Il avait obtenu un baccalauréat en génie électrique de l’University of British Columbia de Vancouver, au Canada,  en 1950. Il avait travaillé 32 ans à la division de Northern Electric/Northern Telecom, où il était responsable de la mise au point, de la conception, de la fabrication et de l’installation de l’équipement électrique servant à la production, la transmission et l’utilisation d’énergie électrique pour les sociétés de services d’utilité publique, l’industrie et le commerce. De 1983 à 1996, il a été ingénieur principal au sein de la société Câbles Pirelli Canada, où il a assumé des responsabilités semblables.  Monsieur Frank était ingénieur agréé ayant le droit d’exercer au Québec.  Il a été le principal conseiller technique de l’Association en matière de conducteurs pour fils et câbles, d’essais de la résistance des raccords électriques, de production d’énergie éolienne et d’applications du cuivre en électricité.