Copper & Aluminum Wire & Cable Comparison

Copper & Aluminum Wire & Cable Comparison

Copper and aluminum are the two materials commonly used for conductors in modern wire and cable. Although lighter in weight than copper , aluminum's electrical conductivity is only 62% that of copper's. This means that an aluminum cable must be larger in diameter for the same
current carrying capacity, an important factor to consider, for example, when installing cable in existing ducts. A larger diameter cable also requires more insulation, increasing its manufacturing costs, its weight and ability to be easily bent.

Powertech Labs have completed an in-depth study on copper-to-copper, aluminum-to-copper, and aluminum-to aluminum connectors. The results of the study are presented in CCBDA Publication No. 42E, Connecting with Copper is Connecting with Trust, which can be viewed or downloaded here.

A Paper on the study, titled Comparative Corrosion and Current Burst Testing of Copper and Aluminum Electrical Power Connectors, was presented at the 2005 Industry Applications Conference of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE). It can be downloaded here.

To receive a printed copy of Connecting with Copper is Connecting with Trust brochure, click here. For more information click here.

For further information comparing copper and aluminum wire and cable, view or download The Colour of Trust, Publication No. 33. Print copies of Publication No. 33 also may be obtained by clicking here.

Comparaison des fils et câbles en cuivre et en aluminium

Le cuivre et l’aluminium sont deux matériaux employés couramment comme conducteurs dans les fils et câbles modernes. Quoique son poids
soit plus léger que le cuivre, la conductivité électrique de l’aluminium n’est seulement que 62% de celle du cuivre. Ceci signifie qu’un câble en aluminium doit avoir un diamètre accru pour porter le même courant admissible. Ceci est un facteur important à considérer, par exemple, lorsque l’on installe des câbles dans des conduits existants. Un câble de diamètre plus élevé nécessite aussi plus d’isolant, ce qui augmente ses coûts
de fabrication, son poids et sa facilité d’être plié.

La société Powertech a complété une étude approfondie sur les raccords en cuivre servant à relier les câbles à âme en cuivre, les raccords en aluminium servant à relier les câbles à âme en cuivre, et les raccords en aluminium servant à relier les câbles à âme en aluminium. Les résultats de cette étude sont présentés dans la publication no 42F, Les raccords en cuivre, un gage de fiabilité, qui peut être visionnée et téléchargée.

Le compte rendu de l’étude qui s’intitule ‘Comparative Corrosion and Current Burst Testing of Copper and Aluminum Electrical Power Connectors’ (Comparaison de la corrosion et de la résistance à l’éclatement des raccords électriques en cuivre et des raccords électriques en aluminium) a été présenté lors de la conférence de 2005 de l’Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE). Pour télécharger cliquer ici. (en anglais seulement)

Pour obtenir une copie imprimée de la publication Les raccords en cuivre, un gage de fiabilité, cliquez ici. Pour plus d’information, cliquez ici.

Pour de plus amples informations sur la comparaison des fils et câbles en cuivre et en aluminium, visionner ou télécharger La couleur de la confiance, publication no 33F.

Des copies imprimées de cette publication peuvent être obtenues en cliquant ici.