Copper and Art

This section of the website is dedicated to the world of copper sculpture. Impressive works of art have been made out of copper for thousands of years. Often, copper or bronze statues have been created to commemorate significant events or personages, and have stood outdoors in public spaces.

This section explains why copper has been the preferred material for sculpture, how these pieces of art were made at different times in history, and features many examples of fine works throughout the world and in Canada today.

Much more detailed information is available under these headings:

Many of the images in the first two sections of this website belong to the CCBDA and document various projects that have been undertaken by a CCBDA Member Company, Artcast Inc (http://www.artcast.com), Canada's premiere company for the casting and fabrication of art and sculpture throughout North America.

This section was written by Gloria Hildebrandt, a writer and editor with Orchard House Communications at www.ohouse.ca.

Cuivre et L'art

Copper Art

La présente partie du site Web est consacrée au domaine de la sculpture du cuivre. Depuis la haute antiquité, le cuivre est utilisé pour la création d’impressionnantes œuvres d’art. Les statues et les monuments en cuivre ou en bronze ont souvent été faits à la mémoire d’événements marquants ou de personnages célèbres, puis érigés à l’extérieur, dans des endroits publics.

Dans cette partie, on explique les raisons pour lesquelles le cuivre est le matériau préféré en sculpture, les techniques utilisées pour la création d’œuvres d’art à travers les époques et on présente plusieurs objets d’art exceptionnels exposés aux quatre coins du monde et au Canada.

Consultez les sections suivantes pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements:

Plusieurs images dans les deux premières sections de ce site Web sont partie de la CCBDA et documentent divers projets qui ont étés entrepris par Artcast Inc. (http://www.artcast.com), la société principale en Canada de la coulée et fabrication d’art et sculpture partout dans l’Amérique du nord, et membre de la CCDBA.

Cette partie a été ecrite par Gloria Hildebrandt, écrivain et éditeur avec Orchard House Communications à www.ohouse.ca.