USNA Maury Hall

Annapolis , Maryland

Restoration

Sheet Metal Contractor

Wagner Roofing Company
Hyattsville, Maryland

General Contractor

C.E.R.
Baltimore, Maryland

Architect

PWD Annapolis

USNA Maury Hall, built in 1907 and designed by Ernest Flagg —the designer of many of the buildings at the United States Naval Academy — recently underwent a complete roofing systems replacement. Copper was chosen as the replacement material to match the original upper roof, built in gutter, flashings and ornamental features.  It was also selected for its durability; the original copper roof lasted over 100 years. Additionally, the aesthetic of the natural copper is in keeping with the majority of the buildings on the United States Naval Academy campus. The shiny copper installed will quickly take on a warm brown patina due to the building’s proximity to the Chesapeake Bay. Overtime, the copper will take on the familiar green patina of the other historic buildings on the site.

Wagner Roofing was awarded the complete replacement, which included an upper double lock standing seam copper roof system, bullnose copper cornice transition, a slate mansard, 34 dormers with double lock standing seam copper and fascia metal, eight copper hip metal caps and a continuous built-in gutter with decorative copper fascia.

The upper standing seam roof was removed and replaced with 24 inch wide 20-ounce copper coil roll formed into 1” high x 21” wide continuous standing seam panels that matched the original profile. The eave bullnose, which also served as the mansard flashing, was removed and returned to Wagner’s shop where it was replicated to match the exact size and profile. The 34 dormer roofs were replaced with 20” wide 20 ounce copper coil formed into 1” high x 17” wide continuous standing seam panels.

The decorative ornate fascia of the dormers was also carefully removed and Wagner’s skilled craftsmen used it as a template to develop the new two piece copper cornice to which the roof panels locked. The cheeks and face of the dormers were also re-clad with custom fabricated copper. The oversized built-in-gutter at the base of the slate mansard was removed and replaced with a new copper liner custom formed and soldered on site. The replacement included a specialty “bull-nosed” drip edge at the base of the slate and an ornate, custom-formed fascia on the exterior of the built in gutter. The decorative copper fascia included 85 “hubcaps,” 152 “half wheels,” and 14 decorative pressed-copper miters. The original hubcap and half wheel ornaments were broken down and patterns were replicated. Each ornamental piece was hand assembled from a pattern of 14 individual pieces of 20 ounce copper before being installed, at their precise original location, on the new fascia. The miters were made by six different molds, taken from the original worn pieces, in order to stamp the design into the sheet copper.

In total, over 43,000 pounds of 20 ounce copper was used on the project. The copper used was manufactured in Rome, New York by Revere Copper Products.

Photo Credit: Joe Guido

Photo Credit: Joe Guido

Photo Credit: Joe Guido

Photo Credit: Joe Guido

Le hall Maury de l’académie navale d’Annapolis

Annapolis , Maryland

Restauration

Entrepreneur en Tôlerie

Wagner Roofing Company
Hyattsville, Maryland

Entrepreneur Général

C.E.R.
Baltimore, Maryland

Architecte

PWD Annapolis

Fabricant de Cuivre

Revere Copper Products
Rome, New York

Récemment, on a refait au complet du revêtement de la toiture du hall Maury de l’académie navale d’Annapolis. Cet édifice a été construit en 1907 et dessiné par Ernest Flagg, l’architecte de nombreux autres édifices de l’académie. On a opté pour le cuivre parce que ce matériau devait s’harmoniser avec la toiture supérieure d’origine, les gouttières intégrées, les solins et les éléments décoratifs. On l’a aussi choisi pour sa durabilité; la toiture en cuivre d’origine avait duré plus de 100 ans. En raison de ses qualités esthétiques indéniables, le cuivre se marie bien avec la majorité des édifices du campus de l’académie navale d’Annapolis. Ce métal brillant ne tardera pas à se couvrir d’une patine couleur brun chaud en raison de la proximité de la baie de Chesapeake. Avec le temps, le cuivre se couvrira de la patine verte des autres édifices historiques du campus.

La société Wagner Roofing a eu comme mandat de refaire au complet la toiture, y compris une toiture à joints debout à double agrafe, une bordure de transition aussi en cuivre, une toiture mansardée en ardoise, les 34 lucarnes revêtues de feuilles assemblées par joints debout doubles et une bordure métallique, huit finitions d’arêtier en cuivre et une gouttière en continu avec une bordure décorative cuivrée.

On a retiré la portion supérieure de la toiture à joints debout et on l’a remplacée par de la feuille de cuivre de 20 onces et de 61 cm de largeur formée d'un joint debout continu qui correspondait au profil original. Le bord arrondi de l’avant-toit servant de solin à la partie mansardée a été retirée et reproduite avec précision dans les ateliers de Wagner Roofing. Les 34 toitures de lucarnes ont été remplacées par des feuilles de cuivre de 20 onces de 50 cm de largeur formées en joint debout de 25 sur 432 mm.

La bordure ornementale des lucarnes a été retirée avec soin pour servir de patron au deux nouvelles pièces de cuivre formant la corniche à laquelle les panneaux de toiture se rattachent. Les côtés et le devant des lucarnes furent également recouverts de cuivre. La gouttière intégrée surdimensionnée, à la base de la partie d’ardoise, a été retirée et remplacée par une doublure de cuivre particulière, soudée sur place. Une lèvre d’égouttement spéciale fut aussi ajoutée à la base des tuiles d'ardoise ainsi qu’un ornement de bordure sur l’extérieur de la gouttière encastrée. La bordure décorative de cuivre se compose de 85 capuchons, 152 demi-roues et 14 formes décoratives de mitres en cuivre pressé. Pour bien conserver le design original, on a fabriqué ces garnitures dans six moules différents, produits à partir des anciennes pièces récupérées. Les capuchons et les demi-roues décoratifs ont dû être reproduits. Chacun de ces accessoires a été taillé et assemblé, en atelier, à partir de 14 pièces individuelles de feuille de cuivre de 20 onces avant d’être reposé à leur place d’origine sur la nouvelle bordure de toit.

La réalisation de ce projet a nécessité plus de 19 550 kg de feuille de cuivre de 20 onces. La feuille de cuivre a été fabriquée par la société Revere Copper Products de Rome, à New York.

Catégories Architecturales: Toitures et Murs à Joints Debout, Usages particuliers

Crédit photo: Joe Guido

Crédit photo: Joe Guido

Crédit photo: Joe Guido

Crédit photo: Joe Guido