Membership Statement and Objectives

Mission Statement

To promote and develop the use of copper, its alloys and compounds in new and existing applications in Canada, while communicating copper's unique role as a sustainable metal and an element essential to human health.

Objectives

To maintain and build an association which represents and supports primary copper producers, fabricators, manufacturers, and consumers of copper and copper alloys.

To carry out market development programs aimed at introducing and promoting new applications for copper in Canada, as well as defending and expanding existing applications.

To work with the International Copper Association (ICA) and the Copper Development Association in the United States (CDA/USA) on market development efforts affecting North America.

To encourage communication and exchange of information with national copper development centres operating in Asia, Europe, Latin America and North America.

To increase industry and public awareness of the Association as the authoritative source of technical advice, literature, CD-Roms, DVDs, and training materials on copper topics.

To publish the periodical "Canadian Copper / Cuivre Canadien", showcasing new and interesting applications and developments which use copper, brass and bronze.

To maintain and expand the www.coppercanada.ca web site as a leading source of information on all applications for copper and copper alloys as well as a focal point for dissemination of the latest information on the Association's services.

To represent the Canadian Copper Industry on standards-writing committees and with third-party certification organizations in Canada and the United States, such as CSA, ASTM, ASME, NSF, Intertech, IAPMO, and others.

To liaise with all levels of government concerning issues which may affect the Industry, including building codes, plumbing codes, electrical codes, environmental regulations, and health and safety issues, and to participate actively on committees involved with such matters.

To inform members of beneficial new information on technology as well as the potential impact on the Copper Industry by changes in regulations, standards and codes.

To maintain and expand the Association's technical library and expertise, allowing it to continue to be the major source of authoritative information on the production, fabrication and application of copper-base materials.

To organize seminars on topics of current interest to members and copper users, including architecture, interior applications, electrical wire & cable, plumbing, natural gas systems, and other applications.

Énoncé de Mission et Objectifs de la CCBDA

Énoncé de mission

Promouvoir et favoriser l’utilisation du cuivre, de ses alliages et de ses composés dans des applications actuelles et nouvelles au Canada, tout en présentant le cuivre comme un métal durable et un élément essentiel à la santé humaine.

Objectifs

Former une association qui représente et soutient les principaux producteurs, constructeurs, fabricants et consommateurs de cuivre et d’alliages de cuivre.

Mettre en œuvre des programmes d’expansion du marché visant à présenter et à promouvoir de nouvelles applications pour le cuivre au Canada tout en justifiant ses applications actuelles.

Travailler en collaboration avec l’International Copper Association (ICA) et la Copper Development Association aux États-Unis (CDA/USA) pour soutenir les efforts d’expansion du marché en Amérique du Nord.

Encourager l’échange d’information avec les centres nationaux de développement du cuivre en Asie, en Europe, en Amérique latine et en Amérique du Nord.

Faire connaître l’Association comme source autorisée de conseils techniques, de documentation, de documents sur CD et DVD et de documents de formation sur les sujets reliés au cuivre.

Publier le périodique Canadian Copper / Cuivre canadien, qui présente des applications nouvelles et intéressantes et des innovations utilisan t le cuivre, le laiton et le bronze.

Mettre à jour et enrichir le contenu du site web situé à www.coppercanada.ca pour en faire une source principale d’information sur toutes les applications du cuivre et de ses alliages et un organe d’information à jour sur les services offerts par l’Association.

Représenter l’industrie canadienne du cuivre aux comités responsables de l’élaboration des normes et auprès des organismes de certification au Canada et aux États-Unis, comme la CSA, l’ASTM, l’ASME, la NSF, l’Intertech, l’IAPMO et autres.

Assurer la liaison avec tous les paliers de gouvernement sur les questions susceptibles de toucher l’industrie, et notamment les codes du bâtiment, les codes de plomberie, les codes de l’électricité, les règlements sur l’environnement et les questions de santé et de sécurité et participer activement aux comités chargés d’étudier ces sujets.

Informer les membres de la nouvelle technologie utile, des retombées éventuelles sur l’industrie du cuivre et des modifications apportées aux règlements, normes et codes.

Enrichir la bibliothèque technique et accroître les connaissances de l’Association pour que celle-ci continue d’être la principale source d’information autorisée sur la production, la fabrication et les usages des matériaux à base de cuivre.

Organiser à l’intention des membres de l’Association et des utilisateurs de cuivre des séminaires sur l’architecture, les applications intérieures, les fils et câbles électriques, la plomberie, les réseaux de distribution de gaz naturel et autres applications du cuivre.